Skip to content

Explore CallMissed

Comparison

GPT Image 2 vs Nano Banana 2 vs Seedream 5.0: 2026 API Comparison

CallMissed logo
CallMissed Team
·14 min read
GPT Image 2 vs Nano Banana 2 vs Seedream 5.0: 2026 API Comparison

Compare GPT Image 2 vs Nano Banana 2 vs Seedream 5.0 on verified pricing, quality, latency, editing and API fit for 2026 buying decisions.

CallMissed logo

CallMissed

AI Communication Platform

Build AI-powered voice agents, WhatsApp bots, and customer engagement workflows.

Try free

GPT Image 2 vs Nano Banana 2 vs Seedream 5.0: 2026 API Comparison

What if one incorrect model suffix could invalidate your entire API shortlist? GPT Image 2 vs Nano Banana 2 vs Seedream 5.0 matters because fast-changing product names can obscure differences in pricing, availability and production readiness. As of September 8, 2026, OpenAI’s API changelog identifies GPT Image 2—not “GPT Image 2.5”—as the token-rate basis for its Sunburst and Flare image workflows, including new xhigh and max quality settings. This comparison verifies OpenAI, Google and ByteDance offerings against first-party documentation, clearly separating published specifications and vendor claims from unsupported benchmark conclusions. You will learn how the APIs compare on text rendering, instruction following, editing, latency, output resolution, pricing and access, plus which trade-offs matter for high-volume applications. Platforms such as CallMissed also reflect the shift toward accessing multiple image models through one OpenAI-compatible gateway.

Which image API is best in 2026? Choose by verified workload fit, not a universal winner

A verdict-first three-column decision infographic titled BEST AI IMAGE API 2026: ANSWER FIRST with cards labeled
A verdict-first three-column decision infographic titled BEST AI IMAGE API 2026: ANSWER FIRST with cards labeled

There is no evidence-backed universal winner: the right API depends on whether production work prioritises precise editing, rapid generation, regional access, predictable cost or resolution. Buyers should shortlist only models whose exact identifiers, endpoints and rates appear in current first-party documentation.

Workload-first shortlist

  • Precision editing: OpenAI recommends Sunburst “where editing precision matters most,” according to the OpenAI API changelog accessed on September 8, 2026; validate performance with your own masks, product images and typography prompts.
  • Fast everyday generation: OpenAI positions Flare for “fast, high-quality everyday image generation,” but the published changelog provides no cross-vendor latency benchmark against Google or ByteDance.
  • Highest-quality workflows: Sunburst and Flare support OpenAI’s new xhigh and max quality settings, according to the 2026 OpenAI API changelog; benchmark the added latency and cost before enabling them by default.
  • Name verification: Treat “GPT Image 2.5” as unverified unless OpenAI publishes that exact identifier; the available first-party evidence instead says Sunburst and Flare use GPT Image 2 token rates.
  • Google evaluation: Do not place “Nano Banana 2” into production procurement until Google documentation confirms the exact API model ID, supported regions, resolution limits, quota rules and per-image or token pricing.
  • ByteDance evaluation: Apply the same gate to “Seedream 5.0”: require a first-party ByteDance or BytePlus model page documenting endpoint availability, commercial terms, output sizes and editing support.
  • Final selection: Run a fixed test set covering small-text legibility, multilingual typography, instruction compliance, identity consistency, edit preservation, p50/p95 latency and total cost per accepted image; vendor claims are not substitutes for workload-specific measurements.

Which model names, API access routes and capabilities are officially verified? (TABLE)

A meticulous evidence matrix titled MODEL AND AVAILABILITY EVIDENCE — CHECKED SEPTEMBER 8, 2026 with three side-by-side
A meticulous evidence matrix titled MODEL AND AVAILABILITY EVIDENCE — CHECKED SEPTEMBER 8, 2026 with three side-by-side

As of September 8, 2026, the supplied first-party evidence verifies OpenAI’s Sunburst, Flare and gpt-image-1-mini, but not the marketed names GPT Image 2.5, Nano Banana 2 or Seedream 5.0. Unverified names should not enter production contracts until the relevant vendor publishes an exact model ID, endpoint and billing schedule.

Verification matrix

Candidate nameOfficial API accessVerified capabilitiesPublished pricingVerification status
GPT Image 2.5No endpoint established in the supplied OpenAI documentationNone under this exact nameNot published under this exact nameUnverified name
OpenAI SunburstOpenAI image-generation workflow; exact model ID is not present in the supplied excerptPrecision-focused editing; xhigh and max qualityUses GPT Image 2 token rates; numerical rates not suppliedVerified product name
OpenAI FlareOpenAI image-generation workflow; exact model ID is not present in the supplied excerptFast everyday generation; xhigh and max qualityUses GPT Image 2 token rates; numerical rates not suppliedVerified product name
OpenAI gpt-image-1-miniOpenAI API under gpt-image-1-miniText-and-image input; image output; cost-efficient GPT Image 1 variantOpenAI displays $2 input / $8 output; confirm billing units on the live pricing pageVerified model ID
Google Nano Banana 2No Google API route established by the supplied evidenceResolution, editing and text-rendering limits not establishedNo first-party rate suppliedUnverified in this evidence set
ByteDance Seedream 5.0No ByteDance or BytePlus API route established by the supplied evidenceOutput sizes, editing support and instruction limits not establishedNo first-party rate suppliedUnverified in this evidence set

Procurement implications

  • Sunburst: OpenAI recommends Sunburst “where editing precision matters most,” according to the OpenAI API changelog accessed September 8, 2026; this is vendor positioning, not an independent cross-model benchmark.
  • Flare: OpenAI describes Flare as suitable for “fast, high-quality everyday image generation” in its 2026 API changelog, but publishes no comparative p50 or p95 latency result in the provided material.
  • GPT Image 2: The OpenAI changelog says Sunburst and Flare use GPT Image 2 token rates; that statement does not verify a public API identifier called gpt-image-2 or gpt-image-2.5.
  • gpt-image-1-mini: OpenAI’s model documentation explicitly identifies gpt-image-1-mini as a natively multimodal, cost-efficient version of GPT Image 1, making it the clearest deployable identifier in this evidence set.
  • Google and ByteDance: Require first-party model cards covering exact IDs, supported regions, quotas, commercial availability, safety controls, output resolution and edit endpoints before comparison testing.
  • Buyer rule: Record the exact model string returned by the API, documentation revision date and billing unit; a recognisable marketing name alone is insufficient for reproducible procurement.

How do GPT-Image-2.5, Nano Banana 2 and Seedream 5.0 compare by feature? (TABLE)

A clean three-way feature comparison grid titled IMAGE API FEATURE COMPARISON with large headers GPT-IMAGE-2.5, NANO BANANA
A clean three-way feature comparison grid titled IMAGE API FEATURE COMPARISON with large headers GPT-IMAGE-2.5, NANO BANANA

The verified evidence supports an OpenAI GPT Image 2–priced workflow comparison, not a confirmed three-way contest between “GPT-Image-2.5,” “Nano Banana 2” and “Seedream 5.0.” As of September 8, 2026, only OpenAI’s Sunburst and Flare capabilities are substantiated by the supplied first-party documentation.

Verified feature matrix

FeatureOpenAI GPT-Image-2.5Google Nano Banana 2ByteDance Seedream 5.0Procurement takeaway
Verified model nameNot verified; OpenAI documents Sunburst, Flare and GPT Image 2 token ratesNot verified in supplied Google documentationNot verified in supplied ByteDance or BytePlus documentationDo not contract against informal names
API availabilitySunburst and Flare appear in the OpenAI API changelogEndpoint and model ID unconfirmedEndpoint and model ID unconfirmedRequire a callable production model ID
EditingOpenAI recommends Sunburst where editing precision matters mostNo verified specification providedNo verified specification providedTest masks, preservation and iterative edits
Generation speedOpenAI describes Flare as fast, but publishes no cross-vendor latency result hereNo verified p50 or p95 latencyNo verified p50 or p95 latencyBenchmark under identical concurrency
Quality controlsxhigh and max are supported by Sunburst and FlareQuality tiers unconfirmedQuality tiers unconfirmedMeasure incremental cost and latency
PricingUses GPT Image 2 token rates; exact amounts are not established by the supplied extractPer-image or token rate unconfirmedCommercial rate unconfirmedCompare total cost per accepted output
  • OpenAI: The OpenAI API changelog accessed on September 8, 2026 says, “Use Sunburst for workflows where editing precision matters most, or Flare for fast, high-quality everyday image generation.”
  • OpenAI: The same OpenAI changelog confirms that both models support xhigh and max quality settings and use GPT Image 2 token rates; it does not identify a model named “GPT Image 2.5.”
  • Google: “Nano Banana 2” needs first-party confirmation of its exact API identifier, supported regions, quotas, pricing, resolution limits and commercial availability before comparison scores are meaningful.
  • ByteDance: “Seedream 5.0” likewise requires a current ByteDance or BytePlus model card documenting endpoint access, output dimensions, editing modes, rate limits and licensing terms.
  • All three: No supplied first-party evidence establishes a winner for text rendering, instruction following, multilingual typography or identity consistency.
  • Buyer rule: Treat vendor descriptions as positioning rather than comparative proof; run the same prompts, seeds where supported, aspect ratios and edit inputs, then report acceptance rate, p50/p95 latency and cost per approved image.

How much do the three image APIs cost, and what is the effective value? (TABLE)

A three-column pricing and unit-economics dashboard titled PRICING AND EFFECTIVE COST PER USABLE IMAGE with cards labeled
A three-column pricing and unit-economics dashboard titled PRICING AND EFFECTIVE COST PER USABLE IMAGE with cards labeled

No defensible price winner can be identified from the supplied first-party evidence. As of September 8, 2026, OpenAI documents the billing basis for its current image models, but exact rates for the labels “GPT Image 2.5,” “Nano Banana 2” and “Seedream 5.0” remain unverified.

Verified pricing and availability status

Cost factorOpenAIGoogleByteDance
Model name“GPT Image 2.5” is unverified; OpenAI names Sunburst and Flare“Nano Banana 2” is unverified in the supplied first-party evidence“Seedream 5.0” is unverified in the supplied first-party evidence
API availabilityOpenAI’s API changelog documents Sunburst and FlareNo confirmed model ID or endpoint suppliedNo confirmed model ID or endpoint supplied
Published priceUses GPT Image 2 token rates, but no numeric rate appears in the verified contextNo verified token or per-image rate availableNo verified token or per-image rate available
Quality-related costSupports xhigh and max; incremental costs are not stated in the supplied evidenceQuality tiers and associated prices are unverifiedQuality tiers and associated prices are unverified
Billing basisToken-based pricing is explicitly referencedCharging unit is unconfirmedCharging unit is unconfirmed
Effective-value verdictMeasurable after retrieving current rates and logging token usageCannot be calculated from verified evidenceCannot be calculated from verified evidence

The OpenAI API changelog, accessed September 8, 2026, states that Sunburst and Flare use GPT Image 2 token rates and support the xhigh and max quality settings. However, the supplied extract does not disclose those numeric rates, so quoting a dollar cost per image would require assumptions about token consumption and quality.

For Google, buyers should obtain a first-party model card, exact API model ID and current pricing page before treating Nano Banana 2 as a purchasable production model. The name could represent a commercial identifier, preview label or informal shorthand; the available evidence does not establish which.

For ByteDance, procurement teams should require ByteDance or BytePlus documentation confirming the Seedream 5.0 endpoint, supported regions, billing currency, resolution limits and charging unit. Without those details, no like-for-like API cost can be calculated.

Measure effective cost, not headline price

Use this formula:

Effective cost per accepted image = total API spend ÷ number of accepted outputs

For example, if four attempts cost $0.03 each and only one passes review, the effective cost is $0.12 per accepted image, excluding labour and downstream processing.

A production comparison should include:

  • Generation and editing charges
  • Retries caused by poor typography or instruction failures
  • Upscaling, moderation, storage and delivery
  • Human review and correction time
  • Failed requests, latency-related retries and regional taxes
  • Gateway markups or fallback charges, where applicable

A higher headline generation price can still deliver better value when the model improves first-pass acceptance and reduces manual rework.

Procurement test and approval rule

Run every candidate with the same prompt set, aspect ratio, resolution, quality tier and sample size. Report median cost, p95 cost, first-pass acceptance rate and effective cost per accepted image separately.

Do not approve a budget using these three marketing labels alone. Archive the dated vendor pricing page, model ID, endpoint, region and quality configuration because model aliases, preview conditions and rates can change independently.

What are the pros and cons of each API for production buyers? (TABLE)

A balanced three-way strengths-and-trade-offs board titled PRODUCTION PROS AND CONS with vertical cards labeled
A balanced three-way strengths-and-trade-offs board titled PRODUCTION PROS AND CONS with vertical cards labeled

Production buyers can approve OpenAI’s documented Sunburst and Flare workflows for testing, while “GPT Image 2.5,” “Nano Banana 2” and “Seedream 5.0” require first-party verification before procurement. An unverified marketing name is not a deployable API identifier.

Production criterionOpenAI Sunburst / FlareGoogle Nano Banana 2ByteDance Seedream 5.0
Model-name statusDocumented; uses GPT Image 2 token ratesExact name and API ID unverifiedExact name and API ID unverified
Primary advantageSunburst targets precise editing; Flare targets fast everyday generationNo verified production advantage can be statedNo verified production advantage can be stated
Quality controlsxhigh and max are documentedQuality tiers not verifiedQuality tiers not verified
PricingToken-rate basis confirmed; calculate workload-specific cost from OpenAI’s live pricing pageCurrent first-party rate not establishedCurrent first-party rate not established
Principal procurement riskHigher quality may increase cost and latency; benchmark bothAvailability, regions, quotas and pricing remain unclearEndpoint access, commercial terms and limits remain unclear
Recommended statusPilot-ready, subject to evaluationHold pending documentationHold pending documentation

Production trade-offs

  • OpenAI: The OpenAI API changelog accessed on September 8, 2026 recommends Sunburst when “editing precision matters most” and Flare for “fast, high-quality everyday image generation.”
  • OpenAI: The same changelog confirms two additional quality settings—xhigh and max—but publishes no cross-vendor latency or quality lead.
  • Google: Require a first-party model card covering API identifier, regional availability, quotas, output resolution, editing support and commercial pricing.
  • ByteDance: Require equivalent ByteDance or BytePlus documentation, including data-processing terms and production service limits.
  • All vendors: Compare effective cost per accepted image—not headline price—after retries, moderation failures, edits and upscaling.
  • Decision rule: Do not interpret missing verification as proof that a model does not exist; treat it as a procurement blocker until authoritative documentation is available.

How should you run a reproducible 2026 AI image API benchmark?

A horizontal laboratory-style workflow infographic titled REPRODUCIBLE 2026 AI IMAGE API BENCHMARK showing six numbered
A horizontal laboratory-style workflow infographic titled REPRODUCIBLE 2026 AI IMAGE API BENCHMARK showing six numbered

A reproducible benchmark must test verified API identifiers under identical prompts, inputs and measurement rules. Freeze every parameter and publish raw outputs so results can be independently rerun.

Benchmark protocol

  1. Identity gate: Record the exact model ID, API version, endpoint, region and test date; as of September 8, 2026, OpenAI’s changelog supports GPT Image 2 token rates for Sunburst and Flare, not the unverified name “GPT Image 2.5.”
  1. Matched settings: Generate at the same aspect ratio and nearest common resolution, using fixed seeds where supported; document quality levels because OpenAI’s Sunburst and Flare support xhigh and max, according to the OpenAI API changelog.
  1. Prompt suite: Use at least 100 prompts split evenly across photorealism, illustration, complex layouts, instruction following and typography—including English, Hindi and other production-relevant scripts.
  1. Editing set: Run the same 25–50 source images through object replacement, background changes, masked edits and identity-preservation tasks; OpenAI recommends Sunburst where editing precision matters most, but treat that as vendor positioning until independently measured.
  1. Blind scoring: Have at least three reviewers grade text accuracy, instruction compliance, visual quality and edit preservation on a predefined 1–5 rubric; randomise output order and hide vendor names.
  1. Operational metrics: Capture p50, p95 and p99 latency, failure rate, moderation refusals, retries, output dimensions and total billed cost—not merely the advertised per-image rate.
  1. Procurement record: Publish prompts, hashes, parameters, timestamps and pricing snapshots; exclude Nano Banana 2 or Seedream 5.0 from scored conclusions until Google or ByteDance documentation verifies their exact IDs, access terms and prices.

Which API should you choose for editing, marketing, ecommerce or high-volume generation?

A branching buyer decision tree titled WHICH IMAGE API FITS YOUR WORKLOAD?
A branching buyer decision tree titled WHICH IMAGE API FITS YOUR WORKLOAD?

Choose OpenAI Sunburst for precision edits and OpenAI Flare for faster marketing production; keep Google “Nano Banana 2” and ByteDance “Seedream 5.0” out of procurement decisions until their exact API identities and commercial terms are documented.

Recommendations by workload

  • Photo editing — Sunburst: Select Sunburst when masks, object replacement and preservation of unchanged regions are critical; OpenAI’s API changelog explicitly recommends it for workflows “where editing precision matters most.”
  • Marketing creative — Flare: Use Flare for rapid social ads, campaign concepts and routine asset variants; OpenAI describes Flare as offering “fast, high-quality everyday image generation,” although it publishes no cross-vendor latency result.
  • Ecommerce — Sunburst first, Flare at scale: Start with Sunburst for product-background replacement and controlled edits, then test Flare for catalogue variants where throughput matters more than maximum edit precision.
  • Premium outputs — benchmark both: Sunburst and Flare support xhigh and max quality settings as of September 8, 2026, according to OpenAI’s API changelog; measure per-image cost, p95 latency and approval rate at each setting.
  • High-volume generation — calculate effective cost: OpenAI states that both models use GPT Image 2 token rates, but the supplied first-party extract provides no numeric per-image price; calculate cost using real prompt, input-image and output-quality mixes before committing volume.
  • Google Nano Banana 2: Treat this name as unverified for production purchasing until Google publishes an exact model ID, API availability, regional coverage, quotas, resolutions and current pricing.
  • ByteDance Seedream 5.0: Apply the same procurement gate until ByteDance or BytePlus documents the commercial endpoint, editing features, output limits, service regions and price schedule; vendor demonstrations alone do not establish production suitability.

Frequently Asked Questions: Are these models public, how much do they cost, and which API is best?

A compact three-column FAQ infographic titled 2026 IMAGE API BUYER FAQ with headers GPT-IMAGE-2.5, NANO BANANA 2, and
A compact three-column FAQ infographic titled 2026 IMAGE API BUYER FAQ with headers GPT-IMAGE-2.5, NANO BANANA 2, and
Is OpenAI GPT Image 2.5 publicly available through an API?
As of September 8, 2026, OpenAI’s API changelog does not verify a model named GPT Image 2.5. OpenAI instead documents Sunburst and Flare, both billed at GPT Image 2 token rates and supporting the xhigh and max quality settings; buyers should use the documented model identifiers rather than assuming “GPT Image 2.5” is an official API name.
Is Google Nano Banana 2 available as a public image-generation API?
The supplied first-party evidence does not confirm Google Nano Banana 2 as a public API model identifier. Before procurement, buyers should require a Google model page or changelog specifying the endpoint, supported regions, quotas, resolution limits, data-handling terms and commercial usage rights.
Is ByteDance Seedream 5.0 commercially available through an API?
The supplied evidence does not establish a public ByteDance Seedream 5.0 endpoint or first-party pricing schedule from ByteDance or BytePlus. Marketplace listings, social posts and benchmark claims should therefore be treated as unverified until official documentation confirms the exact model ID, availability, usage rights and billing method.
How much does GPT Image 2.5 versus Nano Banana 2 versus Seedream 5.0 cost?
No defensible three-way numerical comparison is possible from the verified evidence provided. OpenAI confirms that Sunburst and Flare use GPT Image 2 token rates, and OpenAI separately lists gpt-image-1-mini at displayed input and output prices of $2 and $8, respectively; equivalent first-party prices for Nano Banana 2 and Seedream 5.0 are not established in the supplied research.
Which API is best for GPT Image 2.5 versus Nano Banana 2 versus Seedream 5.0?
No universal winner can be supported without equivalent public specifications and controlled tests across all three vendors. OpenAI recommends Sunburst when editing precision matters most and Flare for fast, high-quality everyday generation in its 2026 API changelog, but comparable first-party capability statements for Google Nano Banana 2 and ByteDance Seedream 5.0 are absent from the supplied evidence.
How should developers compare image-generation APIs before buying?
Developers should test identical prompts for typography accuracy, instruction following, edit preservation, p50 and p95 latency, output resolution, moderation behavior, regional availability and total cost per accepted image. They should also record the exact model identifier and test date, because aliases, pricing and quality settings can change; any gateway or reseller should disclose the underlying model, markup, fallback behavior and data-retention terms.

Sources

  • OpenAI API Changelog: https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/changelog — first-party documentation for Sunburst, Flare, quality settings and GPT Image 2 token-rate billing.
  • OpenAI gpt-image-1-mini model page: https://developers.openai.com/api/docs/models/gpt-image-1-mini — first-party model description and displayed pricing.
  • The supplied research contains no first-party Google documentation for Nano Banana 2 and no first-party ByteDance or BytePlus documentation for Seedream 5.0. Consequently, this FAQ does not invent endpoints, prices or capability citations for either name.

Conclusion

Choose by verified workload fit, not an assumed universal winner:

  • OpenAI documents GPT Image 2 token rates for Sunburst and Flare—not “GPT Image 2.5”—as of September 8, 2026.
  • Sunburst targets precision editing; Flare targets fast everyday generation, with xhigh and max quality options.
  • Nano Banana 2 and Seedream 5.0 require first-party confirmation of model IDs, pricing, availability and limits.
  • Production decisions should follow controlled tests of typography, editing, latency, resolution and cost.

Watch vendor documentation as identifiers and terms evolve. Explore multi-model access through CallMissed—then ask: which API survives your real workload?

Sources

Discussion

Your email is used only to identify you — it is never shown publicly.

Loading discussion…

Related Posts

Ready to automate customer conversations?

Launch AI voice agents and WhatsApp bots with CallMissed — one API, 22+ Indian languages.