AI Receptionist Pricing for Small Business: US vs India

Compare all-in AI receptionist pricing for small business in the US and India, covering per-minute fees and number rental. Verify quotes before buying.
AI Receptionist Pricing for Small Business: US vs India
Why can the same AI receptionist job cost $25 a month on one vendor's site and $199 on another's? Both figures are real, and the gap comes down to how each vendor counts what it sells. AI receptionist pricing for small business is hard to compare because vendors quote in different units: flat monthly plans, per-call fees, per-minute rates and separate phone-number charges.
As of October 2026, vendor blogs put entry plans at $25 to $100 a month, flat plans from $199 and usage pricing at $0.39 to $0.99 per minute. Those figures come from vendor and affiliate-style sources, so verify every quote before you buy. For Indian owners, CallMissed, an AI customer-communication platform built in India, lists voice agents at ₹4 to ₹6 per minute, with phone carriage billed separately. This guide compares US and India options side by side, covering all-in costs, human handoff behavior and setup effort.
Which AI receptionist should a small business pick in 2026?

As of October 2026, the cheapest plan rarely reflects the real monthly bill, so match the pricing model to your call volume first. Most of the figures below come from vendor and affiliate-style blogs, so verify each quote before you buy.
- Allo (US, budget): Its blog lists an unlimited AI receptionist at $18/month, with Quo ($19/user/month) including 10 AI calls before charging $0.75 per call.
- Rosie (US, budget): Vellum's roundup lists plans starting at $49/month.
- NextPhone (US, flat-rate): Its own blog recommends flat plans from $199/month with unlimited inbound calls, a vendor ranking to weigh accordingly.
- Smith.ai (US, human backup): Reviewers describe its live receptionists as worth the premium price, though it is not an AI-only option.
- Usage-based (US): Aircall's roundup reports AI receptionists at roughly $0.39 to $0.99 per minute.
- CallMissed (India): Voice agents cost ₹4, ₹5 or ₹6 per minute by tier, with a 30-second minimum per call; phone carriage is billed separately. It transcribes 22 Indian languages plus English, including Hinglish.
- CallMissed limit: It offers single outbound calls and click-to-call, not automated outbound campaigns, so bulk dialing needs a different tool.
Bottom line: US owners with predictable inbound volume should compare flat plans against per-minute totals. Indian owners serving regional-language callers should test CallMissed's per-minute pricing against their own call length.
Which AI receptionist is the best pick for each use case?

Each use case favors a different pricing model and handoff setup, so match the pick to how your calls arrive. Vendor figures below come from vendor and affiliate-style blogs, so verify each quote before you buy.
- Home services (high inbound volume): NextPhone recommends flat plans from $199/month with unlimited inbound calls, according to its own blog. Allo lists an unlimited AI receptionist at $18/month, which suits tighter budgets.
- Clinics (appointment booking): CallMissed connects Cal.com and Google Calendar, and its WhatsApp Business Calling lets callers reach an AI voice agent from WhatsApp. Confirm your clinic's data-handling requirements before you choose.
- Legal and sensitive calls (human backup): Smith.ai pairs live receptionists with AI, and reviewers describe the premium as worth it. Expect a higher bill than AI-only tools.
- Restaurants and after-hours coverage: CloudTalk's roundup lists after-hours AI receptionist plans from $99/month for 200 minutes, per its own blog. Compare that against your evening call minutes.
- Solo owners on a tight budget: Goodcall is named in a 2026 YouTube roundup as a quick start for solo businesses. Test it against your real call volume first.
- Indian owners serving regional callers: CallMissed transcribes 22 Indian languages plus English, including Hinglish, and lists voice agents at ₹4 to ₹6 per minute by tier. Phone carriage is billed separately, and the platform does not offer automated outbound campaigns.
How do the top AI receptionists compare on call handling, booking and handoff?

Vendor blogs describe call handling, booking and handoff in very different detail, so the table marks gaps as "Not stated" instead of guessing. As of October 2026, verify these behaviors on a live test call before you buy.
| Option | Call handling | Booking | Human handoff | Pricing basis (vendor-quoted) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allo | Unlimited AI receptionist on every plan | Not stated | Not stated | $18/month |
| NextPhone | Unlimited inbound calls | Not stated | Not stated | Flat from $199/month |
| Smith.ai | Live human receptionists, not AI-only | Not stated | Human-first | Human plans from $292.50/month (Vellum) |
| Rosie | AI receptionist, budget tier | Not stated | Not stated | From $49/month (Vellum) |
| Usage-based tools | Per-minute AI calls | Not stated | Not stated | $0.39 to $0.99/min (Aircall) |
| CallMissed | Voice agents by phone, WhatsApp and web | Cal.com and Google Calendar integrations | Squad handoff between agents; supervisors can listen, whisper or barge in | ₹4, ₹5 or ₹6/min, 30-second minimum |
- CallMissed: The only row here with confirmed handoff detail, since its Squads pass a live call between agents and supervisors can barge in.
- Smith.ai: Human-first handling suits owners who want a person on every call, at a higher price.
- Allo and NextPhone: Both quote unlimited inbound calls, but vendor blogs don't say how bookings or escalations work.
- Usage-based tools: Costs rise with call length, so long calls can erase a low per-minute rate.
- CallMissed limit: It does not run automated outbound campaigns, only single outbound calls and click-to-call.
What does an AI receptionist really cost per month in the US and India?

As of October 2026, US flat plans run from about $18 to $199 a month, while usage pricing ranges from $0.39 to $0.99 per minute. The figures below come from vendor and affiliate-style blogs, so verify each quote before you buy.
| Option | Pricing model | Starting price (Oct 2026) | Market | What to check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allo | Flat, unlimited AI | $18/month | US | Quo charges $0.75 per call after 10 AI calls |
| Rosie | Flat plan | $49/month | US | Vellum's roundup lists this entry tier |
| Vellum-listed AI receptionist | Flat plan | $95/month | US | Human virtual receptionist starts at $292.50/month |
| NextPhone | Flat, unlimited inbound | $199/month | US | Vendor's own blog ranks it first |
| Aircall-reported usage tools | Per minute | $0.39 to $0.99/min | US | Minutes accumulate quickly on long calls |
| CallMissed | Per minute, pay-as-you-go | ₹4, ₹5 or ₹6/min | India | Phone carriage billed separately |
- CallMissed, India: Voice agent minutes cost ₹4 (Standard), ₹5 (Expressive) or ₹6 (Best latency), with a 30-second minimum per call and no charge for calls that never connect.
- Illustration: 100 calls averaging 3 minutes is 300 minutes, or ₹1,200 at the Standard rate before phone carriage.
- Hidden costs: Usage tools can add per-call fees, number rental and add-ons on top of the headline price.
- Human backup: Smith.ai is a human-led service, so its cost is not comparable with AI-only plans.
What hidden costs push the real bill above the advertised price?

Advertised prices usually cover only part of the bill. Per-call overages, per-minute meters, per-seat fees and phone numbers can each add to it. Vendor figures come from vendor and affiliate blogs, so verify them before you buy.
Where do the extra charges come from?
- Per-call overages: Allo's blog says Quo ($19/user/month) includes 10 AI calls, then charges $0.75 per call (as of October 2026).
- Per-minute meters: Aircall's roundup reports usage-based AI receptionists at roughly $0.39 to $0.99 per minute, so a 5-minute call costs about $1.95 to $4.95.
- Minute bundles: CloudTalk's roundup lists plans from $99/month for 200 minutes. Owners with longer average calls should model how fast that bundle runs out.
- Per-seat fees: Quo's $19 per user means each staff member who needs access adds to the monthly total.
- Human escalation: Vellum lists AI receptionists from $95/month and virtual human receptionists from $292.50/month, so routing calls to people raises the bill.
- Phone numbers and carriers: Numbers and carrier minutes are often billed separately from the AI fee, so confirm them before signing.
How does CallMissed compare on hidden costs?
- CallMissed: Voice agents are one flat rate per minute (₹4, ₹5 or ₹6 by tier, as of October 2026) covering speech recognition, the language model and the voice.
- Minimum and failed calls: A 30-second minimum applies per call, but a call that never connects costs nothing.
- Phone carriage: Carriage is billed separately, so budget for rented numbers or your own Twilio, Plivo or SIP trunk.
- Limit: Automated outbound campaigns are not offered, so bulk dialing needs a separate tool and its own cost.
What are the pros and cons of each AI receptionist option?

Each option trades cost predictability against human backup and language coverage. The prices below come from vendor and affiliate-style blogs as of October 2026, so verify each one before you buy.
| Option | Pros | Cons | Listed price (verify) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Allo (US) | Unlimited AI receptionist on every plan, per Allo's blog | Figures come from the vendor's own blog | $18/month |
| Quo (US) | 10 AI calls included per user | $0.75 per call after the included calls | $19/user/month |
| Rosie (US) | Budget entry point, per Vellum's roundup | Plan details are third-party summaries | From $49/month |
| NextPhone (US) | Unlimited inbound calls on flat plans | Highest entry price in this group | From $199/month |
| Smith.ai (US) | Live human receptionists, which reviewers call worth the premium | Not AI-only; no AI-only price in these sources | Premium, unpriced in sources |
| CallMissed (India) | 22 Indian languages plus English, including Hinglish | No automated outbound campaigns; phone carriage billed separately | ₹4, ₹5 or ₹6/minute, 30-second minimum |
Usage-based tools, which Aircall's roundup puts at $0.39 to $0.99 per minute, suit low-volume owners but cost more as call length grows.
- Flat plans: the most predictable bill for steady inbound volume, so compare the total, not the headline price.
- Per-minute plans: a 3-minute call on CallMissed's ₹5 Expressive tier costs ₹15 before phone carriage.
- Human backup: choose a live-receptionist service only if some calls must reach a person.
- Compliance: confirm each vendor's call-recording consent and AI-disclosure practices for your state or country.
Which AI receptionist should you choose, and what should you check first?

Choose the pricing model that matches your call volume and language mix, then test the all-in bill against a real week of calls. Vendor figures here come from vendor and affiliate-style blogs as of October 2026, so verify each quote before you buy.
Which option fits which owner?
- US owners with steady inbound volume: Compare NextPhone's flat plans from $199/month against per-minute totals, since Aircall's roundup reports usage-based AI receptionists at roughly $0.39 to $0.99 per minute.
- US owners with light call volume: Allo lists an unlimited AI receptionist at $18/month, and Rosie starts at $49/month according to Vellum's roundup.
- Indian owners serving regional-language callers: CallMissed's Standard tier at ₹4/min uses natural Indian-language voices, and its speech recognition covers 22 Indian languages plus English, including Hinglish.
- CallMissed limits: Each call has a 30-second minimum, phone carriage is billed separately, and automated outbound campaigns are not offered, so bulk dialing needs another tool.
What should you check before you sign?
- Total monthly bill: Add the plan fee, per-minute charges, number rental and add-ons, then run last month's call log through the math.
- Human takeover: Confirm how a live person joins or takes over a call. CallMissed offers supervisor listen, whisper and barge-in on live calls.
- Recording and AI disclosure: Confirm the vendor lets you configure call-recording consent and AI disclosure before you go live.
- Setup time: Place a test call on your real number before you port or forward anything.
- Billing currency: Check whether invoices arrive in dollars or rupees, and whether you need GST invoices or UPI payment.
Frequently Asked Questions

How much does an AI receptionist for small business cost per month in 2026?
Is an AI receptionist cheaper than a human virtual receptionist?
What is the cheapest AI receptionist pricing in the US?
How much does CallMissed cost per minute for an AI receptionist in India?
Are there hidden costs in per-minute AI receptionist pricing?
Can Indian businesses pay for an AI receptionist with UPI?
Conclusion
Pricing for an AI receptionist depends on how each vendor counts calls, so compare the all-in monthly bill, not the headline rate. Verify every quote before you buy, since these figures come from vendor and affiliate-style blogs.
- Match the pricing model to your call volume.
- Count phone numbers and add-ons in every total.
- Test CallMissed's ₹4 to ₹6 per minute voice agents against your real call length.
Watch for vendors to publish verifiable, all-in pricing as AI receptionists spread across the US and India. To explore how AI communication is evolving, check out CallMissed, an AI infrastructure platform powering voice agents for businesses.
Related Reading
- AI Receptionist for Small Business: How to Stop Losing Leads From Missed Calls — A Step-by-Step Developer Guide
- Best AI Answering Service for Small Business in 2026: 7 Compared
- Kimi K3 API Pricing: Customer Support LLM Comparison



